Project Optimization Tools by Jens Kafitz
Here you can find some tools to help you manage data in Mari, increase speed and reduce file/project
Delete all Snapshots will remove all snapshots from all channels or layers in your project.
Snapshots are a way in Mari to save the current state of a layer/channel as a backup.
Mari may also - depending if it is turned on in the preferences - do automatic snapshots
after a period of time.
Snapshots can drastically increase the size of your project on disc or when archiving the project.
Proper deletion & not undoable
This process should be followed by a GarbageCollect command after for best results.
Please note this process will
- clear your history
- save your project
If you are unsure if you want to delete the snapshots permanently and you want the option
to undo you should use the Mari / Channel / Snapshot / Delete All Snapshots instead.
However this would keep the data on disc until you close & reopen the project.
Garbage Collect is a Mari internal process that runs after a few minutes of Mari being idle.
This menu item allows you to manually trigger the garbage collection.
Garbage Collect will look for 'dead' data in your project and project cache directory - meaning any data
that no longer has a direct use in your project. As an example, when deleting a channel Mari might not
immediately delete the channel on disc for the following reasons:
your Hard disc, running a Delete of a massive set of data (a single channel with layers can easily be several Gigabyte)
can slow down Mari and therefore slow Painting, Baking or any other operation you are running. So Mari shelves the
operation for later.
Running this command will
- Save your project
- Clear your history
You will not be able to undo an action that was performed before running this command
You should let Mari run idle for a few minutes after executing this command.
GarbageCollection does not have a ProgressDialog or Completion Message.
Depending on the size of your project and speed of your Harddisc finding and deleting
data might take 5-10 Minutes at least.
For best results, it is recommended to close and reopen the project after which will
run further cleanups on project close/open
Information on this process is sketchy so a 100% guarantee that everything has been removed
Created with the Personal Edition of HelpNDoc: Full-featured multi-format Help generator